Joseph Capriati joins the Fabric family with the forthcoming 80’th edition in the heralded night clubs series of mixes

The Italian DJ and producer cut his teeth in native Naeples on a musical diet consisting of hip hop and early house such as Masters At Work, Todd Terry and Danny Tenaglia to mention some well-known names here. The year 2003 did however, mark a radical change for the young enthusiast after being exposed Dave Clarke, Billy Nasty and Rino Cerrone at a party This very event introduced Capriati to Techno and he’s changed his sonic course right after.

Capriati states the following about the mix for Fabric:

“I recorded the mix live in my studio with 2 CDJs and a mixer, like if I was mixing at fabric. I made a tracklist with various techno and tech house tastes, with some vocals and melodies included, like a journey at fabric, passing from room 1 to room 2 and going back to the room 1 for the last track, which is melodic and emotional, like if it was 9am and the club was going to close, and you will never forget that night.”

I myself obviously might see it rather differently as it’s my task to review this as objectively as possible.
The mix is spotless but after a promising start it quickly becomes a bit stale and too predictable for my tastes. It suffers the same fate like many a Techno or House mix these days, which fails to surprise and throw the much welcomed curveball in the mix so to speak. In these days of so much different music being readily available I altogether somehow miss the versatility, which has previously been displayed on many a memorable Fabric Mix from the past. That being said it will most likely be greeted and heralded by fans of Fabric and Jospeh Capriati, so good on them. It’s just not my cup of tea, plain and simple. Best individual tracks for me are Clap! Clap!’s murky “Ashiko (Lurka Obeah Mix)” and Brian Sanhaji’s EBM-tinged “Gyre”.

Joseph Capriati launches fabric 80 on Saturday 21st February 2015, alongside Phil Kieran (live) and Terry Francis. For full line-up and tickets visit here.

Joseph Capriati is set for release on 16th February 2015 and you can cop the tracklist after the jump.

fabric 80 Tracklisting:

01 Clap! Clap! – Ashiko (Lurka Obeah Mix) [Black Acre]
02 Aura Dub – Smells Like A Virgin [Share]
03 Joseph Capriati – Partenopeo [Drumcode]
04 Bastinov – Ellipse (Proudly People Remix) [Etruria Beat]
05 Alex Mine – Entady [Phobiq]
06 Adam Beyer – Stone Flower [Drumcode]
07 Phil Kieran – Hells Bells [Phil Kieran Recordings]
08 Recondite – Caldera [Hotflush]
09 Shlomi Aber – Helter Skelter [Be As One Imprint]
10 Hans Bouffmyhre & Kyle Geiger – Dispatch [Unrilis]
11 2000 and One – Plant 1 [100% Pure]
12 Joel Mull – Wind It Up [Mood Records]
13 Gary Beck – Backward [Bek Audio]
14 Johannes Heil – Transition Six [Figure]
15 Hinz & Ruhmhardt – Doch [Second State]
16 Alan Fitzpatrick – Organic [Drumcode]
17 Brian Sanhaji – Gyre [CLR]
18 Odd Parents – Learn To Fly (Maceo’s Flight Home Mix) [Ellum Audio]

Useful links:
Joseph Capriati’s personal website The official Fabric website